Outstanding Finalists Announced for the 2020 SocEnv Awards

The annual SocEnv Awards has once again attracted an extremely high calibre of entries.

The record number of nominations have resulted in 12 finalists for the Environmental Professional of the Year award and 5 finalists for the Registrant Newcomer of the Year award.

Following the 14th May deadline for nominations, the Society for the Environment is delighted to announce the highly deserving finalists of the prestigious 2020 SocEnv Awards. With two awards available for the first time, a record number of nominations were received, including many of an exceptional standard.

The Environmental Professional of the Year award is designed to highlight the very best work of Chartered Environmentalist (CEnv) and Registered Environmental Technician (REnvTech) registrants. Registrants work across a wide spectrum of sectors and disciplines, making the nominations a melting pot of environmental expertise.

New for 2020, the Registrant Newcomer of the Year also showcases outstanding environmental work but is specifically available to those who have achieved their registration since 1st January 2019; shining a light on those who have really hit the ground running since becoming a REnvTech or CEnv.

Nominations for the 2020 awards have been received for environmental professionals working in science, research, consultancy, training, ecology, infrastructure, water supply, civil engineering, surveying, environmental management and more. There is also an international element, with nominees based in the UK, Denmark, Australia, the USA and Qatar.

The finalists for the 2020 SocEnv Awards are as follows:

Environmental Professional of the Year 2020

Martin Gettings CEnv
Group Head of Sustainability, Canary Wharf Group
Registered via IEMA

Wai Onn Hong CEnv
Business Manager, Palm Milling, Novozymes
Registered via IChemE

David Inman CEnv
Director, DIEM Ltd
Registered via RICS

Bartlomiej Kolodziejczyk CEnv
Registered via RSC

Kathryn Norgrove CEnv
Registered via CIWEM

Prof. Daniel B. Oerther CEnv
Professor of Environmental Health Engineering, Missouri University of Science and Technology
Registered via SOE

Ololade Okunrinboye CEnv
Environmental Manager, Dragados SA UK & Ireland
Registered via IEMA

John Parker CEnv
Technical Director, Arboricultural Association
Registered via the Arboricultural Association

Diana Pound CEnv
Director, Dialogue Matters
Registered via CIEEM

Mandhy Senewiratne CEnv
Director, Fyrefly Global Sustainability Ltd
Registered via the Institute of Water

David Symons CEnv
UK Director of Sustainability, WSP
Registered via IEMA

Claire Wansbury CEnv
Associate Director of Ecology, Atkins
Registered via CIEEM


Registrant Newcomer of the Year 2020

James Hicks CEnv
Senior Ecologist, Atkins
Registered via CIEEM

Liaqat Karim CEnv
Senior Project Engineer – Environmental, KEO International Consultants
Registered via IEMA

Tamsyn Kennedy CEnv
Senior Project Manager, Scottish Water
Registered via the Institute of Water

Ololade Okunriboye CEnv
Environmental Manager, Dragados SA UK & Ireland
Registered via IEMA

Chris Landsburgh CEnv
Environmental & Sustainability Manager, Wills Bros Civil Engineering Ltd
Registered via IEMA


The winners and highly commended entries are to be decided by a judging panel consisting of five members of the Society for the Environment Board. The finalist nominations are now with the judging panel for their deliberation, with the announcement taking place on Friday 5th June 2020 at 16:00 BST. Chair of the Society, Prof. Will Pope HonFSE CEnv will announce the winners on a live, online broadcast. To register your free attendance and to give your support to the finalists, visit: socenv.org.uk/event/2020SocEnvAwards

The announcement is being made on World Environment Day – a globally significant day for encouraging and celebrating environmental work. The UN Environment initiative is annually championed by the Society for the Environment and this year has the global theme of ‘biodiversity’.

Wishing all the finalists the best of luck.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Our Latest Posts

May 12, 2024

In exactly one year, on May 12th, 2025, the Institute of Water (IWater) will be celebrating its 80th anniversary! In 1945,…

Read more

April 22, 2024

Happy World Earth Day 2024! Today, as we celebrate, it’s an opportunity to reflect on our collective commitment to preserving and protecting…

Read more

March 22, 2024

As we come together to celebrate World Water Day, let us reflect on the vital importance of water in sustaining…

Read more

March 15, 2024

Excitement is brewing as Utility Week Live 2024 approaches. We are once again partnering with this fantastic event, delivering a…

Read more