South East Area Committee

Welcome to the South East Area of the Institute of Water!

South East Area

Your South East Area committee covers Affinity Water, Portsmouth Water, South East Water, Southern Water, Sutton and East Surrey Water and Thames Water as well as supply chain, regulators and other industry partners across Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Essex, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Kent, London, Oxfordshire, Sussex and Wiltshire.


Our diverse committee with members from different working backgrounds – water companies, supply chains and third party contractors, with experience ranging from regulation to technical.

Our Committee

The committee are a mixture of water company, regulator, supply chain and consultancy employees with a shared passion for our industry and the people within it. Our vision is to deliver experiences for our membership that allows both career and personal development and growth, with a good dose of friendly networking across our great community.


We have a huge focus on diversity and inclusion and aim to have that as a thread through everything we do!

Our Events

We pride ourselves on our vibrant events programme, most notably our annual Interactive Weekend School which has seen delegates flourish into successful industry professionals year on year since 2011. Other annual events we host include the World Environment Day debate, Future of the Water Industry forum, Dinner with a CEO, Wellbeing conference and President’s Family Fun Day as well as site visits and relaxed networking get-togethers.


If you’d like to know more about us, our events or how we can support you, please get in touch!


Committee Members

Sarah McMath

Position: President

Company: MOSL

Abigail Johnson

Position: Chair

Company: Thames Water

Kirsty Ayres

Position: Vice Chair

Company: Anglian Water

Joe Ford

Position: Secretary

Company: South East Water

Jamie Jones

Position: Treasurer 

Company: Portsmouth Water 

Lydia Dareheath

Position: Area Forum Rep

Company: Anglian Water

Beth Fairley

Position: Sustainability & Environmental Lead

Company: Portsmouth Water 

Scott Kenward

Position: Communication & Social Media Lead

Company: Southern Water

Abu Rashid

Position: Young Persons Network Lead/Area Forum Deputy

Company: MOSL

Dylan Powell

Position: Rising Star 2024

Company: Binnies

Anna Boyles

Position: Committee Member

Company: Thames Water

Samantha Over

Position: Events Lead

Company:  Thames Water

Paul Holton

Position:  Committee Member

Company:  Southern Water

Chris Brown

Position: Committee Member

Company: Thames Water

Paul Byrne

Position: Committee Member

Company: CABWI

Chris Gethins

Position:  Committee Member

Company:  Z-Tech