Northern Area Innovation Awards

The Institute of Water Northern Area Innovation Awards


The Institute of Water provides a stage on which to recognise Innovation in the UK Water and Sewerage sector.


The Innovation Awards highlight to the many innovative individuals and companies within the Water Sector to demonstrate their excellence and their commitment to future enhancement of the industry. The Awards are also a part of the commitment the Institute of Water is making to promote the right cultural environment and encourage pride in the sector.


Each year, each Area of the IWater holds a regional innovation competition and the finalists from each are short-listed for the National Award. The Award is presented at the National President’s Dinner & Awards evening during a prestigious ceremony where Water Sector experts from across the UK gather together to celebrate industry innovation.

Northern Area
Innovation Awards 2022:

Congratulations to our 2022 Northern Area Innovation Award winners Yorkshire Water – IPCC Waste / Technolog – Gully Monitors.


Thank you to all of our 2022 entrants.

Previous Winners

2020/21 – Typhon Treatment Systems, United Utilities Group PLC and Mott MacDonald Bentley

2019/20 Inflowmatrix

2018/19 –  Pipeline Testing Consultants Ltd- ServiClean – Water Service Pipe Cleaning

2017/18 –  Yorkshire Water with their innovation, ‘Retro-fit Cl Splashguard’.

2016/17 –  APEM Ltd

2015/16 – Northumbrian Water and South Tyneside Council

2014/15 –  United Utilities Business Services in conjunction with EEIP

2013/14 –  Yorkshire Water Services

2012/13 – Morrison Utility Services